A Year Ago Today (September 18, 2021) … ‘The Crown’, ‘Ted Lasso’ Favorite for Drama, Comedy Series Awards at Emmys

A year ago today (September 18, 2021)… Netflix’s “The Crown” is a big favorite at the 73rd Emmy Awards, considered the strongest contender for Outstanding Drama Series, while Apple TV+’s Ted Lasso “is the show to beat among comedies.

“The Crown” could garner an array of honors at the limited-attendance outdoor ceremony at LA Live — so scheduled due to the continuing COVID-19 pandemic. Emma Corrin is considered a favorite for Best Drama Series Actress for her portrayal of Princess Diana, while Gillian Anderson is a strong contender for her supporting role as Margaret Thatcher.

The Netflix drama about the life and reign of Queen Elizabeth II will have tremendous competition in the best drama series category. Also nominated for Amazon’s “The Boys,” Hulu’s “The Handmaid’s Tale,” HBO’s “Lovecraft Country,” Disney+’s “The Mandalorian,” FX’s “Pose,” NBC’s “This is Us,” and Netflix’s Bridgerton.

No new episodes of last year’s drama series winner “Succession” aired during the eligibility period – June 1, 2020 through May 31, 2021.

“This Is Us” is the only series from a major broadcast network to be nominated in the category since 2012, receiving nominations in 2017, 2018 and 2019. A series from the major broadcast networks has not won since “24 from Fox in 2006.

Corrin’s co-star Olivia Colman is also nominated for Best Dramatic Actress, along with Uzo Aduba for “In Treatment,” Elisabeth Moss for “The Handmaid’s Tale,” Mj Rodriguez for “Pose,” and Jurnee Smollett for “Lovecraft Country.” “.

Rodriguez is the first transgender artist nominated for an Emmy Award as a lead performer in a primetime series. Laverne Cox has been nominated four times for a supporting actress Emmy for “Orange is the New Black.”

For the dramatic actor, Josh O’Connor is a strong contender for “The Crown,” as is Billy Porter for “Pose.” Also in the running are Sterling K. Brown for “This is Us”, Jonathan Majors for “Lovecraft Country”, Regé-Jean Page for “Bridgerton” and Matthew Rhys for “Perry Mason”.

While Anderson is considered a major contender for “The Crown,” the late Michael K. Williams of “Lovecraft Country” could win a posthumous award. Williams, 54, died of a suspected overdose in New York earlier this month.

Battling ‘Ted Lasso’ for best comedy series will be ABC’s ‘black-ish’, Netflix’s ‘Cobra Kai’, ‘The Kominsky Method’ and ‘Emily in Paris’, ‘Hacks’ and ‘The Flight Attendant’ from HBO Max, and Hulu’s “Stylo15.”

Last year’s comedy series winner POP TV’s “Schitt’s Creek” wrapped up its six-season run in April 2020. The last time a series from major broadcast networks won in the series category comedy at the Emmys was in 2014 when ABC’s “Modern Family” won for the fifth year in a row.

Jason Sudeikis looks unbeatable in the comedic actor category for his portrayal of a college football coach turned English Premier League manager in ‘Ted Lasso’. But Anthony Anderson of “black-ish,” Michael Douglas of “The Kominsky Method,” William H. Macy of Showtime’s “Shameless” and Kenan Thompson of NBC’s “Kenan” hope to give him a challenge.

Aidy Bryant for Hulu’s “Shrill”, Kaley Cuoco for “The Flight Attendant”, Allison Janney for CBS’s “Mom”, Tracee Ellis Ross for “black-ish” and Jean Smart for “Hacks”.

The seven-episode Netflix miniseries starring Anya Taylor-Joy as chess prodigy “The Queen’s Gambit” is nominated for Outstanding Limited Series or Anthology, along with “I May Destroy You” and “Mare of Easttown” by HBO, “The Underground” by Prime Video. Railroad” and “WandaVision” from Disney+.

This year, anthology series eligibility has been moved to the exceptional limited series category, which has been renamed exceptional limited series or anthology.

Previously, an anthology series could compete in the comedy or drama series categories or entrants could divide the series into individually entered standalone films.

Taylor-Joy tops the list of nominees for best actress in a limited series or anthology for her performance in “The Queen’s Gambit.” Also nominated are Michaela Coel for HBO’s “I May Destroy You”, Cynthia Erivo for NatGeo’s “Genius: Aretha”, Elizabeth Olson for “WandaVision” and Kate Winslet for “Mare of Easttown”.

Paul Bettany for “WandaVision,” Hugh Grant for HBO’s “The Undoing,” Ewan McGregor for Netflix’s “Halston,” and Lin-Manuel Miranda and Leslie Odom Jr. for the movie version of “Hamilton.”

VH1’s “RuPaul’s Drag Race,” winner of the past three years for a streak of outstanding competition, is nominated for a fifth consecutive year. Bravo’s “Top Chef” is nominated for the 15th consecutive year and NBC’s “The Voice” for the 10th consecutive year.

“The Amazing Race” also returned to the category this year. It was nominated in each of the category’s first 17 years but was ineligible last year because CBS did not air a new season during the eligibility period. He is a 10-time winner, including each of the first seven. Also nominated in the category was “Nailed It!” from Netflix.

Variety series nominees include “Conan,” which recently wrapped airing on TBS, Comedy Central’s “The Daily Show with Trevor Noah,” ABC’s “Jimmy Kimmel Live,” “Last Week Tonight with John Oliver.” from HBO and “CBS” The Late Show with Stephen Colbert.

NBC’s “Saturday Night Live” is seeking its fifth straight Emmy for Outstanding Variety Sketch Series. HBO’s “A Black Lady Sketch Show” is the other nominee.

Although “Saturday Night Live” does not air during prime time in the Eastern time zone, it is eligible for the Creative Arts Emmys and Primetime Emmys, which cover programs originally aired between 6 p.m. and 2 a.m. from June 1, 2020 to May. 31, 2021.

Actress, dancer and choreographer Debbie Allen will receive the 2021 Governors Award from the Television Academy to honor her professional contributions to the world of television and her philanthropic work.

“Debbie’s commitment to mentoring underserved communities is nothing short of extraordinary,” said Debra Curtis, Co-Chair of the Governors Award Selection Committee. “She has shared her gift and love of dance and choreography with countless aspiring artists around the world.”

A three-time Emmy winner for the choreography of “Fame” and “The Motown 25th,” Allen is also a Kennedy Center honoree and winner of multiple NCAA Image Awards.

She has choreographed for artists such as Michael Jackson, Mariah Carey, Whitney Houston, Janet Jackson, Dolly Parton and Sammy Davis Jr.

Allen’s television directing and producing credits include “Fame”, “Scandal”, “How To Get Away With Murder”, “Empire”, “That’s So Raven”, “A Different World”, and “Grey’s Anatomy”.

Rule changes for 2021 include that all programs that have been nominated for an Oscar are no longer eligible to enter the Primetime Emmy Awards competition, and any non-documentary film placed on the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences for Oscar consideration was deemed a theatrical film, and therefore ineligible for the Emmy competition.

In another change for 2021, nominees and winners of any performer category titled “actor” or “actress” can request that their nomination certificate and Emmy statuette bear the term “performer” in place of it. actor or actress.

No performer category titled “actor” or “actress” had a gender requirement for submissions.

Cedric the Entertainer will host the Emmy ceremony, which will be broadcast live by CBS.

The bulk of the 119 awards were handed out at three Creative Arts Emmy ceremonies last weekend. These awards are primarily in technical categories, such as image editing, costumes, hair, makeup, and sound, but also include awards for guest acting.

Comments are closed.