CNN leads first two-night ceremony – Deadline


CNN led the winners of the News and Documentary Emmy Awards’ first night, as it did last year, grabbing seven statuettes, as Vice News tonight won a new award for outstanding newscast. See the full list of winners here.

The virtual ceremony also saw print and digital media win Emmys, including the New York Times, which won four, including two for a video film, “How the Police Killed Breonna Taylor.” Here is the list of Night 1 winners broken down by network or platform:


CNN’s awards included two for “CNN / Bellingcat Investigation into Poisoning of Russian Opposition Leader Alexey Navalny,” which aired on AC360. His coverage of George Floyd’s death won for breaking media coverage. Accepting the award, senior national correspondent Sara Sidner spoke about the emotional impact of the story. CNN also won another award via CNN en Espanol.

Related story

Ozy Media Board Hires Law Firm, Suspends COO, Reviews Leadership After Fake Call; CEO Carlos Watson steps down as Doc Emmy host – Update

PBS won four awards, including three for First line. CBS also claimed four, including two for the CBS News special, Bravery and Hope: 7 Days on the Front Line. Vice and Vice TV won the same number of trophies, with Vice News tonight also winner for breaking news coverage in a newscast with American uprising.

ABC News won three awards, including two for 20/20.

Two interviews with Donald Trump were won in separate categories. NBC News won Savannah Guthrie’s live interview with President Donald Trump, Axios on HBO winning the edited interview, for correspondent Jonathan Swan’s interview with Trump.

Telemundo’s Noticiero Telemundo won two awards, including a newsletter and a news magazine in Spanish.

Seasoned broadcasters Wolf Blitzer (CNN’s The situation room), Jonathan Capehart (MSNBC’s Sunday show), Juju Chang (ABC News), Norah O’Donnell (CBS Evening News), Teresa Rodriguez (Univision News), Alzo Slade (Vice), Stephanie Sly (PBS NewsHour West) and Julio Vaqueiro (Telemundo) hosted tonight’s ceremony.

“Tonight, we celebrate those professionals in the information industry who, in the unprecedented year of 2020, went through a global health crisis and a presidential election that shook the very foundation of our democracy,” said said Adam Sharp, President and CEO of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences.

“In addition to celebrating tonight’s distinguished nominees, we also pay tribute to the people who have kept their teams safe in the workplace throughout the pandemic, acknowledging their efforts which have allowed the blanket to flow freely. media in these tumultuous times, ”added NATAS President Terry O ‘Reilly. “In honor of these individuals, the National Academy proudly presents our Chairman’s Award to them.”

This year’s President’s Award recipients were Bob Murphy (vice president of news administration, ABC News), Rick Jefferson (senior vice president of news operations, CBS News), Ken Jautz (vice president Executive, CNN Worldwide), Stacy Brady (Executive Vice President and General Manager, Field Operations and News Production for NBC Universal), Jeffrey Liebman (Director, Network News Operations, Telemundo), John Perez (Senior VP, Production and Technical Operations, Univision), Matt Speiser (VP Operations, PBS NewsHour) and Melody Smalls (VP, Global Human Resources, Allen Media Group).

The second evening of this year’s News and Documentary Emmy Awards, highlighting excellence in documents, will take place tomorrow night. As was the case this evening, the ceremony will be televised live on the Watch.TheEmmys.TV virtual platform, starting at 5:00 p.m. PDT. It will also be available to stream on the Emmys apps for iOS, tvOS, Android, FireTV, and Roku.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.